Thursday, September 9, 2004

It's Quicker That Way..

2004-09-09 - 20:19:00
Current music: Mr. Big - "30 Days In The Hole"

------------------------------------------------------------------
We're going picture-free this time around. This disappointment will be compounded by the fact that the reviews are universally shittier than normal. If you were expecting that I'd taken all this time off in order to further hone my writing chops and deliver the post to end all posts, this ain't it. Next time, you get pictures. And after that, a post that's exclusively shorts.


OLD YELLER (1957) - d. Robert Stevenson
I was watching it as research, and it disappointed on that end, but this yarn about 'the best doggone dog in the West' is a whole lot better than I remembered, and a whole lot better than the most of the Disney live-action oeuvre ('Condorman', 'Mary Poppins', '20,000 Leagues Under the Sea', and 'The Love Bug': all exempt from my disdain). What makes it work are the performances by the two kids playing Travis and Arliss; they're both better than average child actors. The film's score, by Oliver Wallace, is another big plus, and I'd forgotten how much I loved the Old Yeller theme song. I just wish Trav had seized the opportunity and taken Elizabeth down to the corn patch when he had the chance.


SERPENT AND THE RAINBOW (1988) - d. Wes Craven
You could earn a PhD. trying to figure out how this movie sucks as much as it does. So close to amazing. So not amazing at all. A lot of doors were probably closed in Craven's face when this turned out like it did.


MY BLOODY VALENTINE (1981) - d. George Mihalka
If you hang out with the wrong crowd, you'll occasionally hear whispers about 'My Bloody Valentine' being some kind of lost slasher classic. Also, like, a band that good probably doesn't name themselves after a total stinker. The wrong crowd is right, and 'My Bloody Valentine' kicks so much ass that I'm going to need ointment and one of those hemorrhoid pillows to get the swelling down.

I realized I've seen too many movies when I started trying to figure out what planet 'MBV' was made on. I was absolutely convinced the director was English, because so much of its form is straight late-70s/early-80s British slasher. But then, it looks like it's shot in the midwest, everyone's a coal-miner, and no one has British accents. Also, the influence of John Carpenter is there in almost every single shot. When the final credits rolled and I discovered that it was made in Canada (they probably told you this at the beginning of the movie, but if you watch that opening scene high, what with it being so 'erotic' and all, you won't really catch the next few scenes), I was mostly filled with shame at being excited to discover that it was made in Canada. Life sucks.

Anyways, mining accidents, St. Valentine's Day, lame leading men, serial carnage, heavy on-screen drinking, a town with a secret, and the use of the line 'I know a shortcut', all spell Billy kicking himself for not seeing this a shitload sooner. An absolute classic. 5 out of 5 pickaxes.


THE LOST BOYS (1987) - d. Joel Schumacher
One of the most re-watchable movies ever made. Just like 'My Bloody Valentine', the crappy moments are as big a part of the fun as the stuff that actually works.

The more I watch it, the more my favorite scene is the outdoor concert with the super-buff ponytail wearing neo-Navajo sax player. Someone's going to have to explain to me why the saxophone was such a huge part of the rock lexicon in the 1980s. I understand that Schumacher has a Freudian relationship with men playing saxes (see also: Rob Lowe in 'St. Elmo's Fire'), but they're absolutely everywhere in the movies of that decade (Dennis Quaid in 'Dreamscape', there's got to be a movie where Mickey Rourke/Kevin Bacon/John Cusack/Charlie Sheen plays one), and to no good end. Actually, anyone who can think of movies from that decade with saxes in them, please let me know. I'm about this close to starting a critical look at the least important elements of 80s cinema (movies with dirtbikes, Chuck Norris vs. Louis Gossett Jr., Gymkata or Gotcha?,...), and this subject looks ripe for its own chapter.


THE WRAITH (1986) - d. Mike Marvin
Not for the faint of heart. Charlie Sheen stars in this movie about the wild and not-so-good times of a town run by teenagers (not literally) in suburban Arizona. Actually, I'm not sure it's suburban: there's a town sign with a population of 7k at the start of the movie, but then there's a chase scene through about thirty blocks worth of warehouse/industrial district. The movie is about a guy who is killed by a gang of drag racing jerks - led by Nick Cassavetes, doing his daddy proud - and returns to earth to reclaim his girlfriend (ultra-vixen Sherilyn Fenn in white boots) and exact revenge in his super-duper-kit-car. It manages to rip-off 'Knight Rider', 'Repo Man', 'American Graffiti', 'I Spit on Your Grave', and 'Fahrenheit 451', and it spells love to me.

And, yes, of course I want to remake it.


JUGGERNAUT (1974) - d. Richard Lester
Easily the best film of the disaster flick era. Probably as close as Richard Harris gets to playing himself. It's still nothing special, but leave it to Lester to make something out of a nothing.


SHAOLIN SOCCER (2001) - d. Stephen Chow
While it features the subtitle 'my firing-hearted is not easy to blow out' and Vicki Zhao, 'Shaolin Soccer' was a big fat letdown. A couple of things went wrong here. First off, I made the decision to watch the 'Original Chinese Version' of the DVD. Do not do this. Watch the American version; turns out Miramax cut this one down for a reason and I was still waiting for the story to start 50 minutes in. Problemo Numero Dos: while Stephen Chow - whose 'God of Cookery' is a classic - always makes sloppy movies, this thing is beyond belief. and no amount of ADD explains it. Third, they make Vicki Zhao look ugly as fuck throughout: her face is first covered in scabs, then Tammy Faye layers of make-up, and finally she shows up with a bald cap on. The opening credits are the best thing about the movie, and that's saying absolutely nothing.


LUMIERE AND COMPANY (1995) - d. Various
I remember being a lot more impressed by this the first time than I am today. The idea is that a whole heap of the world's finest filmmakers get a crack at making a 52 second short with an original Lumiere Bros. (the guys who invented cinema) camera. There's some other rules, but in case you actually want to watch it yourself, I'll leave you to be surprised, but they aren't much different from something like the Dogme 95 manifesto. Anyways, what we end up with is interviews/making-ofs with each of the directors and a pathetic collection of self-reflexive commentaries on the art of filmmaking and/or turn of the century period pieces. It will come as a shock to no one that names like Michael Haneke, Abbas Kiarostami, Zhang Yimou, and Arthur Penn are included in the ranks of the project's successes, but the list of miss-steps is pretty well shocking (Spike Lee should be particularly ashamed). Easily the two best pieces belong to David Lynch (who clearly spent the most money on his idea, but also the most intellectual energy) and Russian/'Tango & Cash' filmmaker Andreï Konchalovsky (rotting dog has never looked so good). Shame on everyone else.


EAST IS EAST (1999) - d. Damien O'Donnell
Om Puri is a fantastic actor, in any language (he's Indian). Here, he plays the inscrutable Pakistani patriarch of a mixed-race (mom is English) family in early-70s Manchester (that's in England, folks). The film is yet another in the long-line of culture clash films which became de rigeur during the 90s independent explosion, but 'East is East' started life as a wildly successful play, and if your eyes were opened by 'Bend it Like Beckham's brand of Pakistani-English comedy, you'd better start medicating now, because you'll be poorly prepared for 'East is East's far less sunny take of immigrant life. 'My Beautiful Launderette' is a better paradigm, minus that film's homosexual text and plus a bubblier visual style/more-often comic tone. In truth, what was clearly an incredible play strains to make a comfortable transition from stage to screen, and the balance between comedy and drama is never quite within O'Donnell's reach. Despite the tonal inconsistencies, 'East is East' is probably the best post-'Launderette' look at Pakistani life in the UK. It's also a powerful portrait of how one man's anger can destroy an otherwise happy family, free of the character judgments thrown down by many other like-minded British movies.


FELLINI: I'M A BORN LIAR (2002) - d. Damian Pettigrew
More like 'Fellini: I'm a Boring Documentary'.


THE AWFUL TRUTH (1937) - d. Leo McCarey
'The Awful Truth' is an unbelievably great screwball; top three or four of all time. Cary Grant and Irene Dunne are a husband and wife team of philanderers who decide to call their marriage off in the film's earliest moments. The first twenty minutes are insanely great, ridiculously well-written. I'd never come across Dunne, but she's incredible, and is the only woman, other than maybe Katherine Hepburn, who can really stand toe-to-toe with Grant in this kind of comedy. She reminds me a lot of a young Susan Sarandon, circa 'Atlantic City', and the scene where she shows up as Grant's trampy sister is not to be missed. Props to Ralph Bellamy for giving a dipshit dignity once again, and props to McCarey for not closing all the loops by hooking Bellamy's Leeson up with 'Dixie Belle Lee'.


MY FAVORITE WIFE (1940) - d. Garson Kanin
Dunne and Grant made a couple of films together, and 'My Favorite Wife' - while it's got one of the better names going - isn't up to 'The Awful Truth's' lofty standards and often feels like a collection of scenes from earlier screwballs. Leo McCarey was originally supposed to direct 'Wife', but had to settle for producing and story credits thanks to scheduling issues. I'm not sure McCarey could've delivered that much stronger a film, but I'd like to imagine that he might have come up with a better resolution than to steal the final scene from 'Awful Truth' almost verbatim. It's still worth watching for Grant and Dunne.


THE ENGLISHMAN WHO WENT UP A HILL AND CAME DOWN A MOUNTAIN (1995) - d. Christopher Monger
I actually kind of know Christopher Monger, the gentleman who made this film, so I'm biased, but as quirky British period comedies about absolutely nothing go, you can do worse than this film, about a Welsh town who band together when a pair of English surveyors inform them that their 'mountain' - a source of enormous civic pride - is sixteen feet short of being anything other than a hill. Welsh accents are freaky.


13 GOING ON 30 (2003) - d. Gary Winick
Gary Winick was my favorite film teacher at NYU, so I was always going to see this movie, but just like that issue of 'People' left behind last weekend, it's a little easier on the ego when you're not the instigator. Anyhow, if you can get past the fact that there's no difference between '13 Going On 30' and 'Big', this isn't all that painful. The cast is better than the concept deserves, and it's cool to see anyone you know taking a big step forward in their career. Great use of Rick Springfield.

One final thing: I don't believe in sacred cows, and I don't believe that CBGB's is all that hallowed an institution at this point. Whatever CBGB meant in the late-70s, 80s, or even early-90s, its cred was co-opted the second someone decided it had credibility. With that said, CBGB t-shirts have been showing up in movies left and right lately, and they're supposed to tell you that you're looking at the 'hip' character. This isn't bad, but it's definitely lazy on the part of costumers, and I hope it runs out of steam before we see Wilmer Valderrama wearing one on 'Cribs'.


MY MAN GODFREY (1936) - d. Gregory La Cava.
This is another comedy on the AFI's comedy list. It's also just a generically famous movie. And even though it stars William Powell, I am of the opinion that it sucks.


CHILDREN: KOSOVO 2000 (2001) - d. Ferenc Moldoványi
I'm an Oprah-cryer, so it shouldn't surprise anyone to discover that this film, a heartbreaking collection of children - many of them orphans - telling horror stories from the Kosovo conflict, left me in tatters a couple of times over. Too painful for words, but while the Hungarian-made film gives us hope that someone someday might turn black and white video into something worth looking at, it's also desperately in need of editing, with too much artsy fartsy posturing between its narratives. Really close to great, but it could've been even more haunting if they'd left it rawer.


SIXTEEN CANDLES (1984) - d. John Hughes
He made more important movies, but 'Sixteen Candles' was my first John Hughes, and golly if that Long Duk Dong isn't the funniest racial stereotype since Mr. Yunioshi!* I think it's safe to say that Anthony Michael Hall peaked as Farmer Ted.

*joke


HELLBOY (2004) - d. Guillermo del Toro.
Ok, so I didn't rewatch the movie again, but I watched the movie with de Toro & Mike Mignola's commentary track as well as the 140 minutes of documentaries on the package's second DVD. Del Toro is still one of my favorite commentary guys, but since he's not talking with his DP this time around, there's less to learn. On the other hand, the documentaries are scarily in-depth. What's even more frightening is the fact that there are plans to release another DVD with a director's cut of the film and probably another 36 hours of making-of materials.

I think I've already had enough Hellboy at this point, thanks.


WHO AM I? (1998) - d. Benny Chan & Jackie Chan
aka JACKIE CHAN'S WHO AM I?
To be honest, I don't really like Jackie Chan. I know he's a super-nice guy, heart of gold, godfather to thousands of HK films, but his comedy/clown kung fu routine tires quickly and I may have the time, but I'm currently lacking the will. In 'Who Am I?' - supposedly among the best recent Chan films - a lot of money is spent, a nearly-credible Bond-esque setup is devised, and South Africa and Rotterdam offer truly exotic backgrounds. Unfortunately, the paper-thin plot is lazy when it has the potential to actually win us over and Michelle Ferre and Mirai Yamamoto, his two female foils, make suicide look like the healthy choice (Ferre is particularly worthy of your animus). What the film really lacks, though, is Sammo Hung's sparkling choreography. Those with a passing interest in Hong Kong film know that Sammo and Jackie are good buddies (Sammo is the fat Chinese guy who showed up on CBS in the late 90s as the star of 'Martial Law'), and Hung, one of the finest martial arts choreographers in the world, often designs the fights for Jackie's movies. But Jackie is just as inclined to go solo with his fight sequences, and all you need to see is the interminably dull rooftop battle towards 'Who Am I?'s end to realize that Chan's not always better off when left to his own devices. Sammo wouldn't have saved the movie, but he would've at least brought more energy to the stuff we're paying to see.


A REAL YOUNG GIRL (1978) - d. Catherine Breillat
This is Catherine Breillat's first feature, and a film which was, until recently, buried in the midst of bankruptcies and disinterest. Though it was made in the 70s, it was only released in theaters (even in France) in the last year or so. How is it, you ask? Well, like Neil Jordan (or a million others), Breillat was a novelist before she became a filmmaker, and like Neil Jordan, it clearly took Breillat a couple of picturess to find her sea legs. The film's arrhythmic shell of a plot isn't much to look at, but the narrative's tonal construction gets more appealing the longer you stay with it. Really simply, a young girl, Alice, returns home from her boarding school and spends the summer in a wash of newfound sexual desire. She's only now become a sexual creature, and Breillat's mission is to take us on an extended tour of her heroine's fantasies and real-world exploits. For the time, I can't imagine a more shocking film being made, and even by today's standards, the number of items Breillat manages to convince Charlotte Alexandra, her brave young lead, to stick in and/or rub against her vagina is mind-boggling. But still, the film is a lot less than the sum of its parts, with terrible production values (and, no, it's not just some 'bad transfer, poorly-maintained negative' issue - we're talking 'Emmanuelle'/'Girl on a Bus'/Joe D'Amato-caliber stuff here), and it doesn't look much better than a lot of the porn being made in that era. Breillat wasn't lacking for ideas, no doubt, but she's still too buried in the page, and though Alexandra's narration is effective, it's indicative of the learning curve Breillat had in front of her. Not for the faint of heart and, even then, a curiosity rather than an essential text.


HARVEY (1950) - d. Henry Koster
I'd been avoiding 'Harvey' because I figured, seeing as I only sometimes like Jimmy Stewart, that it was gonna make me puke. It didn't make me puke, and I see why people love it so much (great screenplay), but, golly, could that sister of his be more painful to watch? It was like listening to teeth grind against a chalkboard. Bah humbug.


SONGS FOR CASSAVETES (1999) - d. Justin Mitchell
You know you're living in the world of maximum-pretense when a documentary filmmaker doing his/her bit to record a page of indie rock history goes and names their movie 'Songs for Cassavettes'. No film could recover from an opening gambit that lame, and it shouldn't shock anyone that this turgid thesis doesn't live up to its potential. Actually, I'm not sure that there even was that much potential.

I'm totally in favor of the theory that a tree still makes a sound when no one's around, and I don't know if I understand modern man's need to document every last detail of their lives. What WAS cool about 'indie rock' is the same thing that's still cool about graffiti: outside of a few people who are actively seeking it out, this stuff has come and gone with almost no one the wiser. With my crappy attitude in mind, The Ramones deserve a documentary, and The PeeChees (as good as they are) don't. That's not to say that The PeeChees are the only subject of this film; you also get Sleater-Kinney, The Make-Up, The Hi-Fives, Unwound, Some Velvet Sidewalk, Dub Narcotic Sound System, ... and a couple of other bands. The whole thing feels very Olympia/PNW-centric, and is really at least two or three years too late to record anything beyond the death of the 90s indie-era. Worse, instead of really getting any nitty gritty on any of these bands, they're all asked to talk about big concept stuff, mostly DIY-related, and the bands are just as unknown to you at the end of the interviews/performance sequences as they were at the start.

Wait, I have more complaints: the use of black and white (esp. since it's video) is meaningless and therefore pretentious, the live audio is horrifying, it's too long by at least 20 minutes and needed a real editor.

And then there's the reason behind the film's name. Mitchell, who must be some kind of Selena Fan-Club President-caliber John Cassavetes junkie, goes around asking the bands questions in an effort to pigeonhole them into agreeing with a JC quote he dug up and then throws on screen at the end of the film. Their collective confusion over this exercise is probably the most entertaining thing about the whole endeavor.

BUT..

The Cassavetes is quote is pretty great, and worth repeating -
 
"My films are expressive of a culture that has had the possibility of attaining material fulfillment while at the same time finding itself unable to accomplish the simple business of conducting human lives.

We have been sold a bill of goods as a substitute for life...

... in this country people die at the age of 21. They die emotionally at 21, maybe younger. My responsibility as an artist is to help them past 21."
 
But still, pretty pretentious, eh?


SILVER ROCKETS/KOOL THINGS: 20 YEARS OF SONIC YOUTH (2002) - d. Christoph Dreher
More pretense, this time in the form of a not-nearly-as-interesting-as-it-thinks-it-is Sonic Youth documentary. It's like an Oprah-fied look at their career, with some good visuals and tragically dull interviews. The only person I even wanted to hear open their mouth was Glen Branca, and he didn't say shit worth repeating. You'd be much better off buying this book: 'Our Band Could Be Your Life' than you are in watching either this or 'Cassavetes'. You'll learn a lot more and you won't wonder why you bother. The only thing I took out of 'Silver Rockets' is the realization that it doesn't matter who directed the video - Charlie Atlas, David Markey, Tamra Davis, Peter Fowler, Richard Kern - or how famous they are as underground artists: all 80s underground videos blew goat.


PURE (2002) - d. Gillies MacKinnon
Ugh. Gillies MacKinnon, you and I will never be friends. A few years back, you took a perfectly interesting screenplay, a great DP, a healthy budget and Kate Winslet, and all you have to show for that fiasco is 'Hideous Kinky'. Now this.

'Pure' is the story of Paul, a boy growing up in Southeast London (a relatively poor part of the city), living with his heroin-addict mom and his little brother, doing everything he can to keep his family going. Dad is dead, the local drug lord (played by Feromir) is the closest thing he has to a male role model, and family friends are dropping like flies. That he's all of ten years old makes the story all the more harrowing, but MacKinnon's direction is by far the scariest part of the movie.

The kid playing Paul, Harry Eden, might be the best child actor I've ever seen, and the always-amazing Molly Parker is playing the mom. Even pre-stardom Keira Knightley pulls off the role of a preggers crackhead, so it's not the actors. The screenplay certainly isn't what's wrong. John de Borman's photography is beautiful, and there was clearly enough money in the budget to really bring SE London to vivid life. But goddamn it if this isn't the cheesiest heroin-addict movie you've ever seen. The story earns its resolution, to be sure, but the film doesn't. Fuck MacKinnon and his 'I want to work in Hollywood' schmaltz. The next time I see his name in the credits, I'm running the other way.

You know it's a bad movie when you can't even write a decent pan.


THE BRIDE OF FRANKENSTEIN (1935) - d. James Whale
I'm sorry, but after watching 'Gods and Monsters', I totally had it in my head that this was going to be something exceptional. I mean, it's good, and if you like your horror in the high-fairy camp mode, then, please, do. It's still a pretty cool movie, it's great to look at and Karloff, as ever, is amazin'. But, yeah, I mean, I was expecting more than horny little people in jars and maids trying to steal the movie with Mickey Rooney impersonations.


HUM TUM (2004) - d. Kunal Kohli
Bollywood. Basically a Nora Ephron rom-com. What I'd thought I was getting into was an animated Bollywood kid's movie, which is something I'd still very much like to see; if anyone hears of one, you know who to call. There are some animated sequences in the film, but they're about as useful to the story line as song-and-dance sequences are in these films. Again, as it's Bollywood, it's fun to watch and a lot more enjoyably over-dramatic than anything American cinema can produce. BUT, the musical sequences SUCK, with sub-par songs and dead-fish direction.

The leading lady, Rani Mukerji (or 'Mukherjee', depending on who you ask) is a total babe (the male lead, Saif Ali Kahn kind of looks like Sean William Scott without corrective lenses), and the movie does a better than average job of using foreign cities - Amsterdam fares particularly well - as locations. Two things I noticed here: Anyone complaining about product placement in American movies needs to take a look at some of the gems coming out of India at the moment, because the shills are mind-blowing. Also, somewhat unique to Bollywood are 'Love Boat'-style character introductions for actors you - if you're an American of European extraction - have never seen before; I caught Abhishek Bachchan, and you don't have to know who Rishi Kapoor is (I didn't) to know that he's important when he shows up on-screen. 'Hum Tum' is apparently riddled with famous faces, and I love that I don't recognize any of them.


BLOOD SIMPLE. (1984) - d. Joel & Ethan Coen
One of my favorite things about watching early-career films from highly-esteemed directors is seeing the seams in their work. One example would be Stephen Soderbergh's 'King of the Hill', where Stevie doesn't ever find the right rhythm in his framing. That's a film loaded with close-ups where there should be medium-shots, medium-shots where there should be long shots, etc. etc. Or Wes Anderson's 'Bottlerocket', which is one of my very favorite movies, but has a storyline which more or less drops out the second they reach the motel. Or, like, anything Kubrick made before 'The Killing'.

So, what the fuck is with the Coens, then? Fully-formed from the head of Zeus, are we?

Everything you need to know about the genius behind this movie can be summed up in the three times 'It's the Same Old Song' by The Four Tops appears. It's subtle, but it's as perfectly calibrated as the soundtrack in 'The Last Picture Show'. This might also be the best score Carter Burwell's ever written.

Stay far away from the commentary track by a fake film historian (one of the Coen's?), it's the farthest thing from funny.


THE SPIRIT OF ANNIE MAE (2002) - d. Catherine Anne Martin
Maybe not the most exciting documentary of all time, but 'The Spirit of Annie Mae' offers a terrific overview of the history of the American Indian Movement (Native American equivalent of the Black Panthers) through a very personal story (Annie Mae Pictou Aquash, a Canadian-born Indian and member of the Mi'kmaw tribe, was murdered, execution-style in the Black Hills of South Dakota). If you're curious in the least about AIM's legacy, its successes and failures, this is the perfect place to start.


FRAZETTA: PAINTING WITH FIRE (2003) - d. Lance Laspina
I have no idea why I watched this.


UNCOVERED (1994) - d. Jim McBride
Kate Beckinsale is naked in this movie.

Okay, now that that's out of the way.. 'Uncovered' is a frustrating exercise. The movie is based on a book. The book is written by a Spanish writer. The book's story is set in Barcelona. The movie was filmed in Barcelona. Though all of the characters are Spanish, the cast is almost entirely English. You couldn't do that today (the current economics of filmmaking wouldn't let you).

The story involves the restoration of a medieval painting, and a sequence of murders which happen according to the play of the chess game central to said medieval painting. The story's good, and should've made a good movie, but this isn't it. If you don't have it all figured out the second bodies start dropping, you need to go find a reality show on Fox to watch.

Beckinsale, who was 20/21 when the movie was made, wasn't ready to play a lead with this much to do. The score sucks. The score sucks especially badly whenever the tension peaks. The English accents on Spanish characters gets old quick. Beckinsale is so young, it's actually kinda creepy seeing her naked (I know!).

So, yeah, I didn't like it.


GRAVE OF THE FIREFLIES (1988) - d. Isao Takahata
Japanese animated-film chronicling the lives of an orphaned brother and sister struggling to survive at the end of World War II.

Up there with 'Lilya 4-Ever' and 'La Mouchette' as the most depressing movie I've ever seen.
 

Friday, August 6, 2004

My Baloney Has a First Name

2004-08-06 - 14:25:00
Current music: Unwound - "Negated"

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Eh, so, I've seen a lot of other films, but I needed to get something up, and up now, or it wasn't going to happen. The rest will have to follow shortly. Of course, I said that with my last post..

I'm so glad this is finally coming out! - Super.


STOKED: THE RISE AND FALL OF GATOR (2002) - d. Helen Stickler
I didn't grow up in a pro-skating environment, but I was still a pretty big skate rat, and while 'Dogtown and Z-Boys' is a better film, I enjoyed 'Stoked' because it's such a flashback; kind of like watching 'The Search for the Animal Chin' while eating something rich in bran and vitamins. Lance Mountain, Kevin Staab, and almost every other late-80s skate star shows up in this film to weigh in on Mark 'Gator' Rogowski, the skating boom of the 80s, and Gator's final star turn, the rape/torture/murder/etc. of, Jessica Bergsten, a party girl whose only crime was growing up with Gator's ex-girlfriend. The film does an excellent job of painting the heady days of skating circa-1986, the rockstar rise of guys like Christian Hosoi, Tony Hawk, Mark Gonzalez, and Steve Caballero, and the economic and social forces which brought the walls crumbling down. It does an even better job of telling us about Mark Rogowski, the celebrity, about his partying, his wild side, his demons, and the spiral of events which led to his crime. But it falls off just when it should be hammering its final nails, introducing the murder and its victim, far too late in the telling and leaving Bergsten's story untold, unresolved and unsatisfying.



One thing that would have helped is a better sense of where Gator came from. While family members more than likely refused to involve themselves with the film, more needed to be done to reconstruct the life that Mark Rogowski led before his professional skating career. Even just a sliver of background. But, again, the biggest failing is getting absolutely nothing on the victim, Jessica Bergsten. If it's the same routine where the family doesn't want to talk, fine, but you've got to give us more, because, when the credits roll, she's still completely faceless, and that's just lazy.

If for no other reason, see the film for Jason Jesse, taking the concept of 'unintentional comedy' to a whole new level, and the footage of Rogowski trying to street skate, which is almost as funny.

Finally, the film leans heavily on 'Village Voice' writer Corey Johnson's 1992 article on Rogowski, 'Free Fallin'', which you can find here, if you're curious. If it disappears from there, someone let me know, and I'll post it in my own link.


LICENSE TO KILL (1992) - d. John Glenn
I'm planning on watching 'The Living Daylights' again sometime soon, and maybe then I'll unleash my treatise on why, after Sean Connery, Timothy Dalton was the best James Bond. Before anyone freaks out, take a deep breath.. 'License to Kill' is a terrible movie, James Bond as unfun 'Miami Vice' ripoff; it's been forever, but I can only assume that 'Daylights' will be more of the same. But it isn't Dalton's fault that the era didn't demand better from its Bond movies. It's not Dalton's fault that MGM was undervaluing its marquee franchise by recycling hack Bond director John Glenn for the umpteenth time. Dalton is an excellent actor and was a terrific Bond, and though I've never actually read the books, I bet he's as close to Fleming's ideal as anyone short of Connery. If I'm feeling up to it, I'll give you more reason to think I'm stupid in a couple of weeks. The end.


SO CLOSE (2002) - d. Corey Yuen
Three asian babes, Shu Qi, Karen Mok, and Vicki Zhao, get tangled in a web of post-John Woo hi-tech chop-socky naughtiness. Wire fighting and gun battles, ridiculously skimpy outfits, and a brainless plot which still manages to satisfy, due to some vaguely compelling twists. My vote is for Vicki Zhao, Japanese flag dress and all.


LEGALLY BLOND 2: RED, WHITE AND BLOND (2003) - d. Charles Hurman-Wurmfeld
Someone is never being allowed near the TiVo again.


JUMP TOMORROW (2001) - d. Joel Hopkins
I rented this because sometimes I fall into these weird pools of murky water where things get so esoteric that I end up discussing the merits of 'The Flight of the Navigator' vs. 'Clockwatchers'. Sometimes, I need something easy and fun that isn't in a foreign language, isn't for kids, and isn't trying to keep my laughing the whole time (nothing depresses me like bad comedy). And, no, 'Legally Blond 2' doesn't fall into this category.



'Jump Tomorrow' is soft, only marginally clever, and I hated its sets, but it was just what the doctor ordered. I'm going for the huggable Billy routine lately, which involves renting a lot of romantic comedies and trying to be both more social and more considerate, and while the latter two aren't going smoothly, there've been an awful lot of rom-coms in the mailbox. This one was on the list mostly because it stars Tunde Adebimpe, who is better known to trendy-types as the lead singer of TV on the Radio, they of the terrible moniker and excellent tunes. Adebimpe cuts it as an actor, eschewing rockstar histrionics in favor of a comedic performance where the primary joke is that this man couldn't possibly be more reserved. Anyhow, you're either going to like the film because it has a big heart, appealing leads, and pays homage to the tenets of screwball comedy, or you're going to be down on it because you can constantly see the seems in the narrative (start with the 'meet cute', add water..), the sets fucking suck, the supporting cast isn't up to the task, and it doesn't live up to the standards set by the screwball era (do any modern films?). I vote 'Yes' on 'Jump Tomorrow', but don't quote me on it, and definitely don't look for a miracle.


WHEN THE CAT'S AWAY (1996) - d. Cédric Klapisch
You would have to be exceptionally stupid to dislike this movie. Oh la la! A distinctly Gallic, distinctly Parisian comedy without the sentimentality of 'Amelie'! And the lead could never appear in a Swimsuit Issue! And is still a babe! Quelle Horreur! It's so fluid, curious, and good-hearted, I'll never understand the antipathy it generates in some quarters. Ease up and/or fuck yourself.


1942: A LOVE STORY (1993) - d. Vidhu Vinod Chopra
When I wrote about 'Kuch Naa Kaho' and I said that, under the artifice of your average Bollywood film, there's plenty of space for ideas writ large, I was ignoring films like this, or 'Lagaan', which are overtly political, polemical epics. This wasn't my favorite film, not by any stretch, but it has its value, and - as always happens in Bollywood film - it got a lot better by the end. I hope that I don't seem close-minded, or bigoted, but I often have a hard time sympathizing with the leading men in Indian cinema. It seems - and I've only seen maybe 12-15 features from the sub-continent, so don't quote me - like a lot of the favored leading men are extremely soft, not feminized, but certainly not what most Westerners think of when they imagine 'Men'. The Bachchans don't fit my too-broad stereotype, and Amitabh is one of the most popular figures in Bollywood history, so it's possible that it's just the films I've seen. Anyways, I'm going to call it Luke Skywalker Syndrome, and it may just be that I've seen too many Anil Kapoor movies.



Actually, there are similar themes at play between '1942' and the first of the 'Star Wars' films. You've got an Evil Empire (the British), a total pussy of a leading man (Kapoor), a kickass chick (the radiant Manisha Koirala), and the badass whose badass ways turn the kickass chick on. Turns out they aren't brother and sister, though, and Koirala doesn't end up in a metal bikini with a leash around her neck, but the corollary exists. 1942 was a pretty important year in Indian history and, by film's end, I definitely wanted to hand the British their collective asses meself.

The best thing about '1942: A Love Story' is its wonderful music, which was written by Rahul Dev Burman (or R.D. Burman, who'd be kind of like a Leonard Bernstein here) just before his death. The film's score includes what has to be one of the most beautiful songs in the Bollywood canon, 'Ek Ladki Ko Dekha'. My friend Bobby turned me on to the song, and found a translation of the lyrics, which are fantastic. If I can figure out a way to get a link to it on mp3, I will. This song is so good, it's a joke.

EK LADKI KO DEKHA

ek laDakii ko dekha to aisa laga...
jaise khilata gulaab
jaise shaayar ka khvaab
jaise ujalii kiran
jaise ban me.n hiran
jaise chaa.ndanii raat
jaise naramii baat
jaise mandir me.n ho ek jalta diya
ek laDakii ko dekha to aisa lagaa...
jaise subah kaa ruup
jaise saradii kii dhuup
jaise viiNaa kii taan
jaise ra.ngo.n kii jaan
jaise balakhaaye.n bel
jaise laharo.n ka khel
jaise khushbuu liye aaye THa.nDii havaa
ek laDakii ko dekha to aisa laga...
jaise naachataa mor
jaise resham kii Dor
jaise pariyo.n ka raag
jaise sandal kii aag
jaise solah si.ngaar
jaise ras kii phuhaar
jaise aahistaa aahistaa baDHta nasha
ek laDakii ko dekha to aisa laga...


When I saw this girl, she seemed to me like...
like a blooming rose;
like a poet's dream;
like a glowing ray of light;
like a deer in the forest;
like a moonlit night;
like a soft word;
like a candle burning in the temple.
When I saw this girl, she seemed to me like...
like the beauty of the morning;
like winter sunshine;
like a note from the lute;
like the essence of all color;
like a twisting vine;
like the play of waves;
like a cool scented wind.
When I saw this girl, she seemed to me like...
like a dancing feather;
like a silken thread;
like a fairy melody;
like the fire of sandalwood;
like the sixteen (traditional) ornaments of beauty;
like a refreshing mist;
like a slowly growing feeling of intoxication.
When I saw this girl, she seemed to me like...

I should also note that, in the last 10 years or so, Indian cinema has made major strides in terms of production values, and those leaps happened after this film was made. Oh, and also, ignore the title, and the theme; this is not the kind of movie to watch with the little Ms. or little mister unless you're absolutely sure that they can handle Bollywood. You either have the stomach for it, or you don't have the stomach for it; there is no in-between and unleashing a film like this on the uninitiated is a felony offense in certain states. Go with something more recent and, even then, think twice.


A NIGHT AT THE OPERA (1935) - d. Sam Wood
I am not the world's biggest Marx Brothers fan. They are funny, yes, but I generally hate American musicals, and the musical sequences here, aside from the 'last night of the cruise' scene where Harpo and Chico both go off on the piano, don't make me like musicals any better. I'm maybe weird in preferring Chico and Harpo's comedy to Groucho's, but he gets on my nerves at times. This movie deserves its classic status, though, funnier than hell when no one's singing.


MODERN TIMES (1936) - d. Charlie Chaplin
I've been wrong about Charlie Chaplin. Back in junior high, I decided that I needed to see some silent movies. I figured Chaplin was the safest bet because they were comedies. I rented this one and probably the 'Navigator' and quickly lost interest in the silent era. So, I was wrong, as I discovered when I watched these next two movies.

This isn't the best film I've ever seen, not by any stretch, but most of its problems stem from it being a 'big budget comedy'. And, as stated by Hollywood Commandment #7, 'Big budget comedies don't work' (need proof? See the directing career of one Barry Sonnenfeld or Altman's 'Popeye'. What's wrong with 'Modern Times' is overshadowed by what's right, but it would be nice if it wasn't so damned episodic. If all else fails, you can admire it for its politics.


THE GOLD RUSH (1935) - d. Charles Chaplin
This is supposedly Chaplin at its peak, and if this is the best the man can do, well, that's pretty fucking swell. Even though it precedes 'Modern Times' by eleven years, the storytelling is much more nuanced, and the jokes pack a much harder punch. It sure looks like the whole of the 'Looney Tunes' era was a riff on this film. This is where I should've started in the first place, because it's close to perfect.


THE GENERAL (1927) - d. Buster Keaton
I like Buster Keaton a lot more than Chaplin; always have always will. Keaton is ten times the filmmaker Chaplin could ever hope to be, and even if he doesn't deliver the big laughs quite as often, his inventiveness, style, and sense of magic will never be equalled. I got called-out for saying 'I don't remember if I've seen this before' in my last post. I lied. I can tell you exactly where and when I saw the film, but I couldn't tell you half of what happened because I was 'under the influence'. The truth is out. Hopefully I may be forgiven. Anyways, 'The General' is terrific and, more important, coherent - something I'm not sure you can say for a Chaplin narrative.


COUNTRYMAN (1982) - d. Dickie Jobson
Generally considered 'the other Jamaican film', and that's sad, because there's a big quality drop between 'The Harder They Come' and this. I'm not saying that 'Countryman' doesn't have its moments, it does, but it's a pretty minor pleasure. Chris Blackwell was the money man behind this one, which spells good production values, if nothing else. Just like 'The Harder They Come', 'Countryman' owes a huge debt to the 70s exploitation era, but manages to surpass the vast majority of films in the blaxploitation genre. Still, the plot, performances, and pacing are slack as hell, and I vote for watching it for the documentary elements (and mostly very accurate and highly detailed portrait of rural Jamaican life) and its killer soundtrack. And I would get really excited (read: stoned) when the Countryman has to whip up on at least ten guys at the same time. That scene is worth the price of admission alone. Having finally seen it, I regret not bothering to rent it during my prime pothead years.


SHORTS
RUNNING WITH THE BULLS (2003) - d. Adam Goldberg
Eew. All it said was '2003, Documentary' when I decided to DVR it, no director, no plot description, nothing. Adam Goldberg makes a 45 minute documentary about himself traveling in a car in the hopes of fulfilling his emptiness. I gave it four minutes, which was generous.


AFRO DEUTSCH (2002) - d. Ayassi
From Das Motherland, about being both black and German. In first person, a man speaks in spoken word (sometimes rapping), which sounds bad when you consider that it's in German, but the narrative works. Easily one of the best looking films I've ever seen shot on a DV format, the visuals far outstrip a lot of features.


A BLINK OF PARADISE (1992) - d. Karen Young
Self-righteous maternal issues GARBAGE. Whiny, whiny, whiny. How Young convinced an actress of Martha Plimpton's caliber to star in such a thankless role is anyone's guess. What a waste of my time.
 

Monday, July 26, 2004

Lazy Boy

200407-26 - 20:10:00
Current music: The Soft Boys - "Have A Heart Betty (I'm Not Fireproof) #1"

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I've got a double dose of good news for those who like Zhang Yimou. First off, Miramax has decided to release 'Hero' untouched, which means that I'll put my Weinstein voodoo doll back in the drawer. Second, I found a Japanese version of the trailer for 'The House of Flying Daggers', his next film, on Ain't It Cool News. Generally, it ain't cool, but this sure is: HOUSE.

I want to post more regularly, better than once a week. I've been getting bogged down lately, and that needs to stop. I will post again by Friday or die trying.


BROKEN LIZARD'S CLUB DREAD (2004) - d. Jay Chandrasekhar
Any good will engendered by Broken Lizard's first big release, the sloppy but easily digested 'Super Troopers', just got shot to shit. Or, more accurately, slashed to shit, because Jay Chandrasekhar's follow-up comes in the form of 'Club Dread', a crap-assed T&A comedy slash slasher flick. T&A comedies slash slashers or similar variants should be a no-brainer, a poodle could make the format work, but not the boys in Broken Lizard, oh no. The overwhelming impression I got from this movie is that Broken Lizard, as a group, spent too much time being impressed with themselves and maybe should've spent a little more time bringing the funny.


The members of Broken Lizard are stunned to silence by the shitiness of their film.

The stench of smugness was one of the most frustrating aspects of 'Super Troopers', but there was more than enough crass whackiness to go around, and the overstuffed mash of drugs and kinky sex references actually worked in an 'I know this movie sucks but it's still fun to watch' kind of way. The problem with the first film, which is pretty much quadrupled here, is that once you break it down, there aren't a whole lot of funny jokes in the movie. In 'Club Dread', if I think really hard on it, I might be able to come up with two. One of them involves a real world version of Pac-Man played by people dressed as giant pretzels and bananas, where the ghosts are hot chicks who strip down to bikinis when the contestant finds a power pill/shot they have to drink, and I'm going to have to get back to you on the second funny part, because I have to go be ill now that I realized what I just wrote. And that really is funniest scene in the film. Kill me.

Another complaint levied against 'Super Troopers' is that Chandrasekhar, the film's director and de-facto leader of the Vermont-based comedy troupe Broken Lizard, doesn't really know how to make movies. It was easy to gloss over that fact the first time out, because the story of 'Super Troopers' was irrelevant, and there were decent costumes and production design and the film was exposed properly. Really, if there's even a handful of marginal laughs, that's generally enough to make a stoner comedy work. But 'Club Dread' has higher aspirations, laboring (and I mean LABORING) to tell a story with plenty of twists and turns and stuff that just flat-out does not matter.

If you want to know what's wrong with the movie, just watch the first scene. No, not the part with the two topless chicks making out and about to double-team a guy, the part where those same chicks end up getting chased through the woods/jungle. Who doesn't know how to make a chase scene through the woods? Isn't that Horror 101? Or Horror Pre-School? I can't really explain it even if you have seen it, but, apparently, you don't just need to have a chick running through the woods with the camera chasing her to make it work. Really and truly, before seeing this movie, I thought that was all it took. But somehow, Chandrasekhar has discovered a way to make a horror film chase scene that is flat, styleless, and devoid of tension. Congratulations, Jay, do not pass go, do not collect $200, go directly to Kevin Smith Jail. We'll spare everyone a critique of the murder scene in the maze, except to say that there's a movie out there with a chase scene in a maze, and it's called 'The Shining' and, Jay, you could've watched it, or if you were at the library and maybe 'The Shining' is a little too hardcore for your library to carry, you could've looked through the kids videos and picked up 'Labyrinth'. I mean, dude, Jim Henson can out-direct you. From the grave.

Mr. Chandrasekhar, I don't particularly care for T&A comedy, but once you've established your film as a T&A comedy slash slasher flick, and you have a sex scene involving an Olympic gymnast, you might want to come up with a sexual position more exciting than the 'Cowgirl'. Don't get me wrong, I'm all for 'Cowgirl', but she's an OLYMPIC GYMNAST. I mean, it's not even 'Reverse Cowgirl'.

For shame.


KUCH NAA KAHO (2003) - d. Rohan Sippy
I can pretty much watch Bollywood all day. There were times, growing up, where my brother and I would be stoned and turn on the International Channel (okay, this isn't really that long ago..), hoping that we would find something from India, preferably in the brownsploitation vein, and preferably starring Amitabh Bachchan. We didn't always luck out, but Saturday and Sunday afternoons were surprisingly rich with fight scenes starring bull dykes who quickly morph into men with silly wigs when the stunts got scary (think the diner scene in 'I'm Gonna Git You Sucka' x 3), car crashes from only one angle, and, then, to cap it all off, someone breaking into song - and all of this without subtitles. That's specifically the brownsploitation genre, a sub-sub genre of the Bollywood architecture whose primary touchstones were American cop movies and blacksploitation. And, to be fair, Bachchan made a whole hill of movies, and most of them don't fit the brownsploitation mold.



Bachchan, in fact, is one of the stars of 'Sholay', a film with so much cultural traction in the Hindi community that we would need to combine 'Star Wars', 'Lawrence of Arabia', and 'Gone with the Wind' into one film just to compare. Indian culture is hugely influenced by the west, perhaps more so than in any other Asian culture, and the ebb and flow of Bollywood trends closely follows the trends of Western filmmaking. 'Sholay', directed by Ramesh Sippy in 1975, is a classic example of the 'Curry Western' genre, and it lays on a heavy dose of Leone alongside everything else you'd come to expect in an Indian film. What should you expect in an Indian film? Music, baby, music. And lots of over-acting. And über-long running times. But mostly music, mostly unmotivated or undermotivated, and mostly with a higher fructose count than a pack of Hostess Sno Balls. There are few things in the world more genius than a Bollywood musical number, and Indian music - which gets a terrible rap, is very much fucking great. I dare you to watch a Bollywood film and not walk away feeling better about the world you live in. Maybe it's something they put in the Ganges, but the relentless optimism of these movies is beyond compare. And, in between, you might just learn something about a culture insanely different from your own. If I was going to give a total novice advice on where to start an Indian film kick, I'd go with 'Sholay' and 'Lagaan', two very different films which do a good job of hinting at everything Bollywood might offer in-between. You can get them both off of Netflix.

 

With that said, I liked, but didn't love 'Kuch Naa Kaho', the first film from director Rohan Sippy (son of Ramesh, who is Bollywood's answer to Spielberg), and one of India's biggest blockbusters last year. The name means 'Don't Say A Word', and the song 'Kuch Naa Kaho' is a Hindustani romantic standard. The film stars Abhishek Bachchan (that's right, son of Amitabh!) and Aishwarya Rai*, Bollywood's Julia Roberts, in a glossy, effervescent romantic comedy which trades in some very big, and very modern, ideas about the rights of a woman in a changing world. It's fun, and not a bad primer on Hindi rom-coms, but it's dramatically slight (it suffers from a bad meet cute), and the excellent musical numbers are all that holds attention until the film's second half. Still, by movie's end, if you're not noticing just how much feminist doctrine is slipping through under cover of night, then you're not watching. And it shows up on-screen without tasting a bit like medicine. But that's where Bollywood tricks you. You think you're watching crap, but underneath all the artifice and the ridiculously catchy song and dance, filmmakers have plenty of space for ideas write large, and the opportunity to change the world they live in.

*Get used to the name Aishwarya Rai. She's starring in 'Bride and Prejudice' - Gurinder Chadha's curried take on Jane Austen - and has two or three more high-profile Western flicks on the horizon. I think she's a little too mousy, a very Western ideal of beauty, but she's an excellent actress, and a safe bet to make the crossover work.


THE SHOP AROUND THE CORNER (1941) - d. Ernst Lubitsch
Lubitsch = Genius.

Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius Genius.

There's also a short film packaged with the DVD, a little MGM doohickey called 'A New Romance with Celluloid'. If you rent this DVD and do not watch 'A New Romance with Celluloid', you've made a mistake.


SINGLES (1992) - d. Cameron Crowe
I was so disappointed when this movie came out that this is only my third time seeing it. The only film, before I reached 'killing people in foreign countries' age, that I ever anticipated with close to this much excitement was 'Batman', if that offers perspective. I was expecting the man who'd delivered 'Fast Times at Ridgemont High' and 'Say Anything' to take things up yet another notch, and deliver a seminal treatise to love, rock 'n' roll, and how totally bogus the mainstream is, dude. In retrospect, 'Singles' doesn't miss quite as bad as I'd remembered, but it still ties itself up in knots to no apparent effect. Campbell Scott is the only actor who walks away from this movie cooler for having been in it.


BORN YESTERDAY (1950) - d. George Cukor
Hey, here's a cute film! It's on the AFI's 100 Laughs list. I'm not sure it should be in the top quarter of the bracket, but methinks they were trying to make sure George Cukor showed in good standing. Judy Holliday is fantastic as a former showgirl and current lover of a crooked businessman (Broderick Crawford) who's come to Washington D.C. to buy a bit of influence. Holliday's character, Billi Dawn, is so completely uncouth that Crawford enlists William Holden, playing a political journalist, to show her the ropes of the educated class. Sparks fly between Holliday and Holden, and Billi is suddenly transformed into a proto-Marxist, hairy-legged suffragist. Or something. I never thought I'd say this about a left-leaning film not directed by Ken Loach, but all the hand-wringing about equality for everyone and the perils of capitalism ends up being overkill. Still, worth watching for Holliday.


CATCH THAT KID (2003) - d. Bart Freundlich
Pity Bart Freundlich. From 'Myth of Fingerprints' - kinda weak, but a promising start - to glossy kid movies in just three films. And, it would be one thing, Bart, my boy, if you made that move with style. If 'Catch That Kid' was something special, I'd be singing your praises right now, but it isn't, and you're the one to blame.

The thing about 'Catch That Kid' which is most disappointing is that it's based on a Danish film called 'Klatretøsen', which was a monster-hit in Europe, and is supposedly the best kid's action film since time immemorial. All of that is surely too much hype, but I've been dying to see the real article; my sweet tooth for kid-related fare which cops grown-up genre conventions is crying for a root canal, but all I want is more sugar. And, no, while I think it's nice that people have responded to the 'Spy Kids' series, and it's sadly as smart as anything out there right now, those movies don't cut it. You couldn't run a red in the eighties without hitting six or seven decent kids' movies. Now the situation's so dire, we end up treating Rodriguez like Les Bros Lumière.

 
Original and poor facsimile.

'Catch That Kid' starts with the outlandish premise that a 12 year-old is an unsupervised and accomplished mountain climber. Ridiculous, sure, but it's a kids' movie, so you have to give a little to get a little, and after that, the movie - and this, I think, is its big strength - hews a lot closer to reality than most action films. Her dad ends up getting really sick, and the only surgery that can save him involves flying to Denmark and dropping $250k. That's a tall order, all things considered, but mom is a security specialist working for a soon-to-open superbank with a tough to crack supersafe designed by momma herself, and the supersafe is going to be filled with cash on the night of the bank's opening party (not exactly the case, but for purposes of brevity..). In order to break into the bank, our girl, Maddy, enlists her two best friends, two guys her age who are constantly competing for her affection.

There's a lot of places where the movie goes wrong, and really only a couple places where anything goes right. The actress who plays Maddy, Kristen Stewart (Jodie's daughter in 'Panic Room'), still looks exactly like Jodie Foster, and still seems to have more chops than actors two and three times her age; she may not be Evan Rachel Wood, but, in her first lead, she's more than capable of working her way through the silliest crap. Unfortunately, other than Stewart and Jennifer Beals, nobody else in the film seems to know how to act. Maybe Michael Des Barres deserves some credit for bringing the camp to the party, but even his role deserved more menace. The boys playing Maddy's best friends, Corbin Bleu and Max Thieriot, well, they're more at the Nickelodeon sitcom stage of their acting careers. Structurally, the film mostly works, and should be really entertaining, but the screenplay's dialogue is painfully leaden, and it's hard to imagine Judy Dench salvaging many of these scenes, let alone 12 year olds. More woes in the form of crappy editing, overkill production design, and a soundtrack that only a movie this poor could deserve.

In the interests of full-disclosure, because I don't expect anyone else I know to see this movie, I followed up by watching the trailer to 'Klatretøsen'. The films look almost identical from the trailers, shot for shot in some places; even some of the annoying stylistic flourishes in 'Catch' look as if they've been lifted directly from the original. I don't know if that means a whole lot, because 'Klatretøsen' has a very good reputation and 'Catch' was universally panned, but I thought it was interesting. I won't put much stake into it, because I believe, in the hands of a better director, that 'Catch That Kid' could've been something really special.

Here's the link to the 'Klatretøsen' trailer, just in case you're curious -
Click Me (Yes, the site's in Danish, but go to 'Multimedia' and choose a format. See? Not so hard.)


A SHOT IN THE DARK (1964) - d. Blake Edwards
I'm making my second assault on the AFI list of top 100 comedies. When it first came out, I went out and saw about thirty movies off the list. Until that point, I didn't appreciate anything pre-1960s that wasn't a noir, Hitchcock, Sturges, or Wilder, give or take. But since my first crack at it, I've become a grateful convert. I'm going to see 'The General' again, because I'm not 100% sure I've watched it before, and I still need to see the 'Gold Rush', but at that point, I'll have seen the nos. 1-32 on the list.

'A Shot in the Dark' is the excellent follow-up to the original 'Pink Panther'. Generally considered funnier, probably because Sellers' Clouseau has significantly more screentime, and it's on the AFI list where 'PP' isn't, but I'm not convinced. It's a very funny movie, and I'm glad I watched it, but I'm going to vote for the original. The addition of Herbert Lom as Dreyfus, the chief of police, is inspired, but the cat-and-mouse between Sellers and David Niven in the 'PP' carried more dramatic weight. This time, the story is Agatha Christie light. Also, 'PP' has better locations, a better Mancini score, that amazing Fran Jeffries song and dance number, and Claudia Cardinale, who I'll take eight days a week and twice on Saturday over Elke Sommer.

But, yeah, Sellers is definitely even funnier this time around, so I guess it's just a matter of taste.


THE SURE THING (1984) - d. Rob Reiner
I'm not sure how I missed this film growing up, but ne'er did I see it. Super-young John Cusack meets super-cute Daphne Zuniga and they reenact 'It Happened One Night' except with a slightly different plot and a lot of the chick from 'Falcon Crest' wandering around in a thong. Cusack and Zuniga are both pretty up for it, though JC's just a little too young to convince, and the casting in general is inspired. This was a pedestrian choice for director Reiner, coming off the masterstroke that was 'This is Spinal Tap.' It's not a bad movie, I respect that they tried to put together a smarter teen romance, but I don't feel retroactively scarred for not seeing it in my wee-lad days.


EL ARTE DE MORIR (2000) - d. Álvaro Fernández Armero
The art of the slasher flick is a lot like the art of the Bollywood flick or the porno flick: people don't care about what happens in between money shots, but you gotta get the money shot (for Bollywood, please replace 'money shot' with 'song and dance sequence'). In slasher flicks, nothing counts more than the death scenes. Good death scenes forgive EVERYTHING in the land of horror (see: peoples' responses to 'Final Destination', a film with elaborate but only marginally decent death sequences).

So what a bummer then, watching 'The Art of Murder', a Spanish slasher film with plenty of ideas, some clever fundamentals, and shitty shitty death scenes. If I wanted, I could spend a month pointing out everything that's weird or wrong with this movie, but it stars Fele Martinez, my favorite Spanish actor, so I'll go easy.

But not before I land the horror fan kiss of death: clearly directed by someone who doesn't love horror movies. Sacrilege!


KISSED - (1996) - d. Lynne Stopkewich

  

This is a Canadian film based on a short story by Barbara Gowdy. Molly Parker works in a mortuary and has sex with dead guys. It's kinky, but also tender, original, and oddly reverent. In spite of its subject, it's nothing like a horror film, and it's the best unheralded Canadian movie I've seen since Don McKellar's 'Last Night' (which is brilliant and must be seen by everyone and their mother). If you can find 'Kissed' on Sundance or VHS, and you're able to get past the subject, it's more than worth your time. Which means Greg will rent it and then whine about how much he hates it. Greg, this is more of a Stef movie, ok?


SHORTS
DOPPELGANGER (2001) - d. Michael Horowitz & Gareth Smith
This is everything that's wrong with short films. Pathetic. An over-financed UCLA production starring Timothy Olyphant, Rebecca Gayheart, and a bunch of unnecessary digital effects which add absolutely zero to the story. I hope Rebecca Gayheart gets run over by a Hummer.


NO PROBLEM (2001) - d. Gene Lushtak
I wish that this was a student film, so I could hold it up as an example of a perfect counter to 'Doppelganger's glossy shittiness, but it isn't, and it's not that wonderful anyways, but still.. 'Doppelganger' is just so bad. 'No Problem' is clearly a work of autobiography, and it's about a very young boy whose family has just emigrated to the States from Russia in the late 1970s. Basically, what you get is a too-cute kid suffering the humiliations of a horrible day at school until the deus ex machina machine stops by to make things go happily ever after. I'm being harsh, and really, there's little to complain about with this film. Camera looks good, costumes look good, sets look good, sound mix is good, etc.. etc.. Perfect example of someone using a short to prove they're ready for a feature and coming out the other end looking like they're ready for a feature. Amen to that.


LA SALLA (1996) - d. Richard Condie
Painful Canadian film which just happens to be digitally animated. It also happens to be really fricking stupid. The short is courtesy of Richard Condie, the guy who later went on to curate the animation show 'O, Canada' which I'm pretty sure used to run on Cartoon Network in the '120 Minutes' time slot many moons ago.


MIRIAM CORNSWIG'S FAREWELL PERFORMANCE (2002) - d. Victoria Arch
It's better for all of us if I just leave this one alone..


SHE LOVES ME, SHE LOVES ME NOT (2003) - d. Jamie Rafn
No dialogue, just beefy classical music over a montage detailing the romantic ups and downs of an impossibly beautiful young British couple. Shot on 35mm, the best thing the film has going for it is that it looks outstanding. It's all very accomplished, but it's also very hokey, and I'd want to see another film from this director before I let him/her direct anything other than music videos. Which is really what this is.


EVELYN: THE CUTEST EVIL DEAD GIRL (2002) - Brad Peyton
Another Canadian short, 'Evelyn' is so terrifyingly unoriginal that it makes my 'moving to Canada' plan an urgent necessity. You see, I need Canadian citizenship, and I need it soon, just so I can take National Film Board of Canada grant money away from Brad Peyton. Ok, ok, I'm being unfair. 'Evelyn' has some cute ideas going on, but most of them are riffs on Tim Burton - especially 'Nightmare Before Christmas' - and Dr. Seuss (see: rhyming narration). Neat sets, though. The whole thing looks like a cartoon come to life. I wouldn't have any issues at all if there was a real sense of story to it. Just because you have a beginning, middle, and end doesn't mean your work is done, buddy. Universal is paying this kid to make a feature called 'The Spider and the Fly', and if this film is any indication, it may not be live action. Stinks like stupid to me.


ZULU 9 (2001) - d. Alan Gilsenan
This is a short film from Ireland which obviously had a ton of backing from the Irish Film Board/Bord Scannán na hÉireann, but doesn't live up to its promising premise. I lived in Ireland a while back, just as the refugee discussion was kicking into gear - most rich-world EU countries have been overrun with asylum-seekers in recent years, and the British Isles have been particularly hard hit - and because my first roommate was African-American and socially-aware, I spent a lot of time with refugee-status immigrants during my year in Dublin. The refugee issue is only going to grow as the world gets smaller and the canyon between the haves and have-nots engulfs poorer nations, and I always thought that the subject of refugees in Ireland would be a ripe one for a film.

Fifteen to twenty years ago, Hibernia was a place which people wanted to leave rather than come to and - thanks to their status as England's punching bag - the Irish have long harbored an inferiority complex about the appeals of their country. The UK is seen as the holy land for many in search of asylum, and while things are nowhere near as out of control in Ireland, it's still an appealing option for those on the run from their homes, be they political or economic refugees. Even ten years ago, Africans, Arabs, and Asians were a novelty in Dublin, but in recent years, things have shifted dramatically, and there are now growing enclaves of Somali, Pakistani, Ivorians, and East Timorians in the city. The hard truth of Ireland's move from economic backwater to first-world promised land is that the Irish haven't been the most welcoming of hosts, and it's a truth that 'Zulu 9' ignores as it highlights the immigrant debate in what is essentially an action film format.

'Zulu 9' is a twelve minute short which essentially takes place in real time, as a long-distance trucker, clearly just off a container ship from Wales or the continent, discovers that he's got a party of stowaways in the payload of his eighteen-wheeler. He radios in to a Garda (Police) channel, and the action follows the trucker as he rolls along the highway, picks up a police escort, and is steers into a 'clear zone' ready to receive his human cargo.

The film's two biggest problems are Gilsenan's hyperactive and hyperacute framing of the image, and his poor handling of an ending which is dramatically appropriate but ineffectively executed. I don't have a problem with hand-held camerawork and flashy, staccato editing, but it's more of a linguistic flourish than an elemental piece of the lexicon, and it needs to be justified by the narrative. 'Zulu 9' presents a perfect opportunity for this kind of ornamentation, and stuttering edits and a shuddering camera do add to the tension, but Gilsenan goes far overboard, with his feet in cement, and the bulk of the film's nervous energy is due to its phenomenal sound mix. I'd like to see it on a bigger screen before passing a final verdict, but as it stands, a lot of time and money went into this film and I know that the Irish Film Board runs on a tight budget; a stronger finished product would've justified the Board's decision to put a lot of eggs in this one basket.
 

Wednesday, July 14, 2004

I Give Up

2004-07-14 - 16:55:00
Current music: Iron and Wine - "On Your Wings"

------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
ALIEN (1979) - d. Ridley Scott
I love the new edition director's cut. It's better than the first release, and Scott's proven that he's more adept at tinkering with finished product than most. The commentary track is great.




LE CERCLE ROUGE (1970) - d. Jean-Pierre Melville
Fucking genius. Melville is a fucking genius. 'Le Cercle' isn't his best film; it's better than 'Un Flic' or 'Le Deuxième Souffle', but it doesn't have the power to transform the viewer, which I think the holy trinity ('Bob le Flambeur', 'Le Doulos', and 'Le Samouraï') does. This is the most routine story I've seen Melville tell. It's as much a police operational as it is a gangster film, and anyone who's seen 'Rififi' (a film he easily could've directed) is going to be in comfortable territory. The movie it most reminds me of is 'The Day of the Jackal', and while 'Jackal' is English-language and highly politicized, there's much in common between the narrative structures of the two films. Once again, Henri Decaë is behind the camera, and while it never achieves the visual heights of 'Le Samouraï', there are few director/DP teams who deliver the goods like these two can.


SINGIN' IN THE RAIN (1952) - d. Stanley Donen & Gene Kelly
I didn't expect to like this movie. At all. Singing and dancing aren't generally for me, and I've been avoiding 'Singin'' for years, even though I loved everything about Stanley Donen's 'Charade' and knew how good this movie's rep was. I was wrong, everyone else is right. With my personality, it'd seem like that alone would be reason to go on loathing 'Singin'', but I can't. It really does rule; it's a billion times sexier and smarter than my best-case scenario, even if the second half of the film flags and Jean Hagen is clearly a man in drag. I wasn't sure going in, but now I'm positive that this is the first time I've seen a Gene Kelly movie. I'd always assumed he'd be too mincing and cutesy and I'd want to kick his ass. Instead, he seems like a guy you'd want to have a beer with. Bizarre. And don't get me started on Debbie Reynolds. Or get me started on Debbie Reynolds. Either way, I'm happy.


THE FOG OF WAR (2003) - d. Errol Morris
This is a great movie, but you only really need to watch it once.


FLIGHT OF THE NAVIGATOR (1986) - d. Randal Kleiser
Holds up amazingly well. Great cast (Veronica Cartwright and Cliff De Young as the parents!), great production design, just about everything in this movie is good. Joey Cramer never made a movie after this, which is surprising, because he handles everything the film throws at him like a born star. He also looks just like my eight year old brother, which is more creepy than actually interesting.


THE CINCINNATI KID (1965) - d. Norman Jewison
I watched this a while back, right when I was getting into 'movie lover' mode. I'd seen Norman Jewison on 'Inside the Actors Studio,' and never having seen a director speak at length about his career, I became fascinated with Jewison. My love affair with Jewison didn't last forever, but 'The Cincinatti Kid' kind of stuck with me. After all, it was my introduction to Hal Ashby (who cut the film, and three other Jewison features) and Steve McQueen.

Anyways, s'good. As good a poker movie as was made pre-'Rounders,' and it could teach that film a few tricks. Great cast, good script (Ring Lardner Jr. & Terry Southern), and it all builds to a nice ending. Am I out of my mind thinking that Amy Locane is the spitting image of Tuesday Weld? Is that just me?


SALTWATER (2000) - d. Conor McPherson
Conor McPherson's directorial debut. McPherson's an Irish playwright best-known on American shores for his play, 'The Weir,' which played to packed houses on both Broadways and won awards in Ireland, the UK and the US. I love his plays, but I like him best because of his brilliant screenplay for the film 'I Went Down,' which is probably the best Irish film of the last ten years not called 'The Butcher Boy.' Anyways, 'Saltwater' has never seen an American release, but I have a tape (I'm sneaky like that), and I love it. It stars Bryan Brown, Brendan Gleeson, Peter McDonald, and a bunch of lesser-known, equally brilliant Irish actors. It's a tiny piece, really, a comic character study, and while it's mostly stripped of McPherson's trademark banter, it's also pretty great. The real find is the actor Laurence Kinlan, who plays Joe, the youngest of the Beneventi family; it's pretty hard to make me miss being an awkward 16 year old, but Kinlan pulls it off.

Not available for loan-outs.


8 MILE (2002) - d. Curtis Hanson
I have a feeling that '8 Mile' will stand the test of time. It totally hedges its bets, which is why you see both Brian Grazer and Rodrigo Prieto in the credits, but I think it works pretty well. There haven't been many Detroit films since the seventies - all I can think of are the 'Robocops,' 'Detroit Rock City,' 'Out of Sight' and 'Zebrahead' - and it's always a cool city to see on-screen. I think both Kim Basinger and Brittany Murphy feel like they're in another movie, and it was clearly Grazer's idea to put Mekhi Phifer in silly fake dreads, but almost everything else sticks, and Eminem is further along as an actor than Mark Wahlberg was in 'Boogie Nights'. The biggest knock on the movie is that the hip-hop isn't real enough. The battle scenes, the rival gang, the radio-station stuff, it all works in the context of the movie, and it's not bad, but it just doesn't go far enough, feel real enough to me. That doesn't take away from the film's end, which is as good a music-movie ending as you'll see for a long time, but it still ain't 'Wild Style'.


BELOW (2002) - d. David Twohy
I hate sub movies. After 20 minutes of this crap, I hate them even more.


IGBY GOES DOWN (2002) - d. Burr Steers
I genuinely like 'Igby Goes Down'. I generally loathe movies about spoiled boarding-school types, and I know it's just 'The Catcher in the Rye' warmed over, but I still like it. Kieran Culkin, Jeff Goldblum and Susan Sarandon are all great. I think the editing's a bit too jagged, and the costume design is flat-out bad, but pretty much everything else works. It's too clever for its own good, but, if I were Burr Steers, I'd be feeling like I could've done a lot worse on my first go-round.


GHOULIES (1985) - d. Luca Bercovici
'Ghoulies' is no 'Critters'.

'Critters' is no 'Gremlins'.

Feel free to do your own math.

'Ghoulies Go to College'? Now that's a different story..


SHORTS
LUCKY THREE (1997) - d. Jem Cohen
Now that I have Tivo, I've started camping the schedules of Sundance and IFC for short films, grabbing whatever I can. Once again, Sundance comes up aces, and IFC disappoints. I don't really get it, but I think it has to do with money more than anything else. At this poin, it's clear that Sundance is the better-financed of the two networks, and while I'm always going to root for IFC and against Sundance, there's no doubt that they've done their homework and are delivering the better films, especially in the shorts department.

'Lucky Three' is an eleven minute portrait of Elliott Smith, shot in Portland, and it's just basically some shots of him walking around the city for some nice place-holder shots, and then him playing three or four songs on his acoustic, either in the kitchen or a recording studio. It's a perfect little film, great to look at, melancholy, and sweet, and the second the end credits started with the words 'A Jem Cohen' film, I knew why. What a fucking genius the guy is.


OCULARIST (2002) - d. Vance Malone
A nice little nine minute portrait of Dr. Fred Harwin, a Portland, OR (theme?) MD/Medical Illustrator who makes fake eyes. The look of the film is beautiful, and it engages the subject head-on in a way that feels just right. There are moments when Malone, who also photographed the piece, goes too deep into Mark Romanek territory, but it doesn't take away from the overall effect of the piece. Very cool.


SILVERSTAR (1999) - d. Harry Flöter & Jörg Siepmann
Like 'The Sorcerer's Apprentice,' except live action and in German. A middle-aged supermarket employee is fired and sneaks back to work in the middle of the night to conduct a parking lot symphony of grocery carts. Some of the effects work nicely, others are too obviously miniatures.


WEEPING SHRINER (1999) - d. William Preston Robertson
This was the IFC entry in the short film sweepstakes, and it sucks. Stupid story, crap performances, bad location sound, worse mix. God only knows why it made it to TV.


DELUSIONS IN MODERN PRIMITIVISM (2000) - d. Daniel Loflin
Another Sundance short. Maybe the best of the bunch. I'm not going to explain it because it would ruin the fun.
 

Wednesday, July 7, 2004

My Favorite Mortal

2004-07-27 - 15:28:00

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Ok, listen. There's like four people who read this thing in the first place. So when one of them bitches constantly about the fact that I haven't posted in ten days, knowing full well that I've taken ill during said period, it's not unlike being kicked when you're down.

You may think you redeemed yourself with this link, but it doesn't make me hate you any less. - Death Star


LEGEND (1985) - d. Ridley Scott
Eh.. Yes and no.

I'd never seen this movie. When I was young, the pictures of Darkness on the box and posters scared me away. When I got older, Tom Cruise did the trick. If I'd watched it when, I might've been a little creeped out, but I think mostly it would be my favorite movie ever. Of the 80s fantasy genre - 'Labryinth,' 'Willow,' 'Neverending Story,' 'Dark Crystal,' etc. - this one probably has the most going for it. I should also mention that I watched the director's cut, not the version from the original US release.

'Legend' features an awesome Tim Curry performance as 'Darkness,' the evil lord/son of the devil whose goal is to destroy the waking hours. Every second of Darkness' screen time made me happy happy happy. The only thing that made me happier was Mia Sara. Her little goth queen episode - excepting the dance sequence - was an act of extreme kindness on Mr. Scott's part.



The story is all over the place and references everything: Tolkien, Barrie, Lewis, Baum, Arthurian legend, Celtic myth, Greek myth, Norse myth, and on and on.. In fact, the references that make up the bulk of 'Legend' are laid on so thick that a game of spot-the-antecedent eventually starts to detract from the movie. There's also slack plotting in the film's second half to blame for distraction, but the majority of the film is fun, interesting, and as beautiful to look at - cherry DVD transfer - as anything Scott's ever done. I definitely regret waiting on it for all these years.

I'm storing this one away with 'Escape from New York,' in the department of movies I should've watched when I was a lot younger which don't resonate quite as well once you actually start talking to girls (or at least have the option to).


EQUILIBRIUM (2002) - d. Kurt Wimmer
So wrong in so many ways, it's impossible to even begin. Gun Kata? Who are you kidding? I saw that movie, it starred Anthony Edwards and it was shitloads better than this.


Puppy saver.

Every once in a while, an ambitious sci-fi film comes along which sets a precedent for doing the future on a tight budget ('Gattaca' comes to mind); this one doesn't manage to get anything right. Costumes and sets are particularly at fault, but 'Equilibrium' is so totally uninspired (and criminally under-financed?) that it's hard to imagine why Dimension didn't pull the plug after the second day of dailies. I mean, other than the fact that it's Dimension.

It's rare that a film involves so many actors in need of better agents to such stunningly crappy effect. Everyone here needs to fire someone close to them. No paycheck is worth being associated with this disaster. Have to send a shout-out to Dion Beebe, the DP here. M. Beebe, you've done some decent work on other projects, but this looks about as bad as a studio film ever gets to look.

With that said, it kind of works as camp; you'd never imagine that a warmed-over reading of 'Fahrenheit 451' could be so exquisitely dumb. And I'm excited, because Wimmer's next gig, Ultraviolet, is destined for still-greater suckiness.


I STAND ALONE (1999) - d. Gaspar Noé
This is a movie I like more and more. Everything about it is audacious and evil but, unlike 'Irréversible,' it feels organic and real. The important difference between the two films is that 'Irréversible' smacks of calculated immorality; 'I Stand' feels like an amber cast of a terrible life. Philippe Nahon is brilliant.


CLOCKSTOPPERS (2003) - d. Jonathan Frakes
This is as close as a storyline gets to the 80s heyday of adolescent action films. It's a game effort at bringing some energy back into 'Safe for Kids' movies, but you could drive a semi through most of the logic gaps and the product placements are too hot and heavy. French Stewart needed to be put down years ago. Jesse Bradford may look like a young Bruce Campbell and have starred in Soderbergh's 'King of the Hill,' but he's so fucking smug that I want to go shopping for steel toes. And, no, I'm not embarrassed about watching it.


GINGER AND CINNAMON (2002) - d. Daniele Luchetti
The current mini-renaissance of the Italian film industry is hard to get a grasp on. That's because the only films which seem to be making it stateside feel like pilot-episodes to Italian versions of 'Thirtysomething.' Like so many other rich world countries, Italy is aging dramatically as couples opt to make smaller families later in life. Italy's populace is second oldest to Japan's, with the average age hovering just below the 42 point. For reference, the US, a country with aging issues of its own, clocks in at 36 years old. On balance, 42 is older than hell and nearing crisis levels.

The ill-gotten and unsubstantiated point of this census excursion is that Italians, on the whole, are prone to acting like babies well into adulthood, and issues that people in other countries have worked out by the time they're 20 can sometimes hang around well into one's thirties. This, I think, goes a ways towards explaining why so many Italian comedies involve full-grown adults in plots lifted from American teen movies.

I'm being too harsh here, about both Italy and Italian comedies, but I saw 'The Last Kiss' recently, and now this, and there's clearly something going on. 'Ginger and Cinnamon' is about a 14 year old named Meggy who desperately wants to lose her virginity, and somehow talks her aunt, Stefy, into taking her to the Greek party island of Ios right after said aunt (age 30) has ended an eight year relationship with a man she didn't think was responsible enough for her. There's lots of plot twists and some interesting nuance, and the film is well-acted and beautifully shot, but the two female leads are both too harsh, Meggy's side of things gets too much screen time, and the movie actually concedes its ending too quickly (a complaint I never make). In the end, this is a film which is a whole lot more appealing if you're Italian and a woman; being neither, it wasn't a waste, but it wasn't far off.

If anyone feels like translating the original title of the film - 'Dillo con parole mie' - for me, I would be much obliged. Babelfish gets hung up on the word 'dillo'. And yes, I'm aware that, in terms of writing quality/logic, this is one shitty review.


THE LONG GOODBYE (1972) - d. Robert Altman
I want to see someone grow some balls and give Elliot Gould another part like this. As highly-rated as it is, this is the Altman film which most deserves more due. It's the bestest.


ESTONIA DREAMS OF EUROVISION! (2002) - d. Marina Zenovich
The story behind this BBC documentary is so quirky and 'other' that it should've made a much better film. 'Eurovision' is an annual pop-song contest that, for some insane reason, appeals to many many Europeans. It's where Abba was originally discovered (and probably one or two other major artists), but it's basically an excuse to churn out ungodly crap which will spend the summer blasting out of tacky discos across the European continent. If Shania Twain was from the Old World, for sure she'd have competed at least once in her life.

In 2001, an Estonian entrant, after almost a decade of independence from the U.S.S.R. and subsequent economic hardship, finally won the big prize with a stupid little ditty called 'Everybody,' sung by Estonian pseudo-celebs Dave Benton and Tanél Padar. Benton and Padar were hired hands, a common practice in the world of Eurovision entrants, and this film is both an exposé of their uniquely crash-and-burn moment of fame and an examination of the build-up to the next Eurovision festival, which is to be held in Tallinn, the tiny country's capitol.

It doesn't sound like much, and unfortunately it isn't, because the director, an American working for the BBC, doesn't have what it takes to turn material gold into substantial viewing. From the looks of things, she had less than a week in Estonia to shoot her film, and that's a clear handicap, but she ends up interviewing the right people and asks most of the right questions. But she also puts herself front-and-center, Nick Broomfield-style, and as bad as Broomfield is, he's nowhere near as annoying as Ms. Zenovich. I'll cut her some slack and assume that the film was made to be shown on BBC in the weeks before the 2002 Eurovision contest, but for the sake of the home video/post-Eurovision 2002/overseas audience, I can't understand why there isn't some tacked on 'And Then This Happened...' card at the film's end to explain some of the crucial open questions we're left with. Boo.


THE PINK PANTHER (1963) - d. Blake Edwards
I saw a bunch of the 'Pink Panther' movies when I was a kid, but never the original. What a great movie. The world of big-budget comedy is fraught with cautionary tales, but Sellers is a genius and Edwards are both pretty much geniuses, and this movie is somehow both glossy and funny. Yay.


EXPERIMENT IN TERROR (1962) - d. Blake Edwards
This is the only thriller Blake Edwards ever directed. Strong performances all around, excellent use of the San Francisco which doesn't show up in postcards, and great photography. Not a must-see, mostly because it apes Hitchcock, but I thought it was fun. The film's 'heroine' lives in the community of Twin Peaks. I know Twin Peaks really exists, but I'm still wondering if Lynch wasn't making a reference to this movie, though it seems like a stretch.


EUROTRIP (2004) - d. Jeff Schaffer
Heinous. I didn't expect it to be good, but I did expect a few laughs. Instead, it's another 'every kid in high school is fucking rich and we're useless as filmmakers' affairs. Even the nudity isn't worth anyone's time (especially in the unrated version, which seems to be an excuse to put a lot of penis on-screen). I can only hope that the kids who enjoy this movie are inspired to go to Europe themselves and further propagate anti-American hatreds. For shame, Ivan Reitman. For shame.


SPIDER-MAN 2 (2004) - d. Sam Raimi
This is exactly what the first one should've been. Huge upgrade. I'm really worried that the Hobgoblin's going to wear the stupid-assed Green Goblin suit that ruined the first one, though. It looks like he's going to be the main bad guy in '3,' and that's a bummer, since Spidey's got the best rogues gallery of any comic book hero. The digital Spidey is still poor as all get out, but there's so few missteps in this installment that it confirms my theory that David Koepp is a shitty writer and mostly responsible for the fact that the first film wasn't very good. Also loved the extended Ted Raimi cameo.


THEY (2002) - d. Robert Harmon
aka 'Wes Craven Presents They'

Better than 'Darkness Falls.' Worse than everything else. Who casts an anorexic horse as their lead? How am I supposed to sympathize with an anorexic horse?

I think we're long-overdue for a federal ban on horror movies with opening scenes involving kids who don't want to sleep by themselves.
 

Monday, June 28, 2004

Billy Loves Petey

2004-06-28 - 18:23:00
Current music: The Books - "Tokyo"

------------------------------------------------------------------------
A friend of mine watched 'Thief' after reading my write-up and felt utterly let down by it. This provides me with the perfect opportunity to point out that I have horrible taste in films. Just look at the movies I've watched since I started keeping this journal. With that said, I don't think my write-up on 'Thief' was misleading. If you've seen 'Heat' (which I don't really like), you'll know that Mann hates going from A to B in the shortest number of steps. But I should've mentioned that just because it's called 'Thief' doesn't mean it's really a heist film. Said friend is totally right to dislike the movie and feel betrayed. I will always let you down.

I love Mike Judge. Here's this week's Onion A/V Club interview with him - I Like Mike


FAHRENHEIT 9-11 (2004) - d. Michael Moore
I don't really like writing about movies that every single person and their mom are talking about. It was good, it got me riled, I liked it, it wasn't nearly as shrill as I was expecting. There's a small part of me which still wishes it was a socialist recruitment video, but that wouldn't have been the right approach, and Moore, for once, understands that now is the time to play the relatively straight man. All in all, a very cogent argument, and a film that I think is going to sway more people than pundits want to believe. It could stand to lose ten to fifteen minutes from the end, though.

I know they only had a couple of weeks from the time they purchased it to the this past week's release, but Lion's Gate dropped the ball bigtime. Sure, it's the #1 movie in America, broke all kinds of records for a documentary, blah blah blah blah, but they didn't have nearly enough prints out to theaters. Seeing how every local screening was sold-out in the Triangle area (keep in mind that this is the South), you have to think they could've easily broken the $30 million mark.


LOST IN LA MANCHA (2002) - d. Keith Fulton & Louis Pepe
I forgot that I'd watched this about three weeks ago. I'd heard that it was a pretty sloppy effort, and it was, but it's better than what I'd prepared myself for. The big surprise was that Terry Gilliam didn't come off like an idiot who lost control of his production. The biggest mistake he seemed made was to surround himself with producers sans clue as to what it would take to get that big a movie done. It's a pretty clear-eyed look at how films go south. I want to see Gilliam get the movie made; it looks like there were some great ideas on hand.


TRICKS OF THE TRADE: MAKING 'MATCHSTICK MEN' (2004) - d. Charles de Lauzirika
It was probably some rag like Entertainment Weekly or Premier where I read that the documentary in the 'Matchstick Men' DVD package was a must-see, and now I know better. The film, at 70 min., is actually a pretty decent overview of the filmmaking process, prep-to-post, but it's no major revelation. I'll give it credit for not being 100% rah-rah, but the warts-and-all approach smacks of a calculation, and there's gotta be much juicier stuff which didn't make the final cut. 'Hearts of Darkness' and the 'making of' which accompanies 'Three Kings' are much better bets.


VISITOR Q (2001) - d. Takashi Miike
Confession time. I got sent a fucked up copy of the disc, so I only got to watch the first hour of the film (the runtime is 85 min) and things got mangled just as it was getting to the I-can-take-no-more-point.

Oh, Miike, you so crazy. Anyhow, this is like all of his favorite themes, and the film includes paying your daughter for sex, a kid beating the living shit out of his heroin addict mother, rectal exams with microphones, and excessive lactation. Shot on video, and no worse for it, of his films that I've seen, it's the one which most explicitly examines the seamy side of mainstream Japanese culture. Icky as hell, and sometimes too offensive for words, but mostly oh so fun. And, yeah, sure, the second Netflix gets a new copy (good luck), I'll re-watch it and come to a different conclusion.

Here's a couple of Miike interviews - ranked in order of personal preference - to tide you over:
 Miike in The Guardian
 Miike in Film Threat
 Miike in Midnight Eye


THE HILLS HAVE EYES (1977) - d. Wes Craven
If I was a true horror fan/sadist, I'd like Wes Craven's earlier movies a lot better than I do. While 'Last House on the Left' is effective in its brutality, it's also completely WRONG, and I fucking hate it. 'Deadly Blessing' and 'Stranger in our House' are also suck. Actually, they're both so bad, I'm sorry I even need to mention them.

I've stayed away from 'Hills Have Eyes' because I was expecting more of the same.

It is more of the same.

Talk about movies with a lame setup. I'm not really sure why this is a cult-classic and one of the more important horror films of the 70s. I mean, it's better than the rest of his early stuff, but it's mostly just dumb and crappy. A warmed-over 'Texas Chainsaw' with bad performances, good locations, silly silly costumes and Craven's trademark ultra-aggressive direction.